Diversity List 2011


Black Enterprise took the conversation about diversity beyond race and procurement spend this year. Here are our top 40 companies, including whether they rate on the Human Rights Campaign’s Best Places to Work list with regard to the LGBT community.

2011 Black Enterprise 40 Best Companies for Diversity
Strengths Key = E – Employee Base, S – Senior Management, B- Board of Directors, P – Supplier Diversity
Company Location Type of Business HRC’s Best Places to Work Strengths Website
Aetna Inc. Hartford, CT Health insurance * S, B www.aetna.com
Aflac Inc. Columbus, GA Supplemental insurance E, P www.aflac.com
Allstate Corp. Northbrook, IL Insurance * www.allstate.com
American Express Co. New York, NY Financial services, Insurance, Travel * S, B www.americanexpress.com
AT&T Inc. Dallas, TX Telecommunications * E, P www.att.com
Bank of America Charlotte, NC Banking/Financial services * P www.bankofamerica.com
Comerica Bank Dallas, TX Financial services and Insurance P www.comerica.com
Darden Restaurants Inc. Orlando, FL Restaurants S, B, P www.darden.com
Exelon Corp. Chicago, IL Utility * S www.exeloncorp.com
Fannie Mae Washington, DC Financial services * E, S, P, B www.fanniemae.com
FedEx Corp. Memphis, TN Courier E www.fedex.com
Ford Motor Co Dearborn, MI Automotive * http://corporate.ford.com
Freddie Mac McLean, VA Financial services * S, P www.freddiemac.com
General Mills Inc. Minneapolis, MN Food processing * www.generalmills.com
General Motors Corp. Detroit, MI Automotive * P www.gm.com
International Business Machines Corp. Armonk, NY Computer hardware, Software, Consulting, IT software * B, P www.ibm.com
JPMorgan Chase & Co. New York, NY Financial services * E www.jpmorganchase.com
Kellogg Co. Battle Creek, MI Food processing * www.kelloggs.com
Marriott International Inc. Bethesda, MD Lodging * E, B www.marriott.com
McDonald’s Corp. Oak Brook, IL Food services E, S, B, P www.mcdonalds.com
MetLife Corp. New York, NY Insurance B www.metlife.com
MGM Resorts International Las Vegas, NV Casinos and hotels B www.mgmresorts.com
Nationwide Columbus, OH Insurance * www.nationwide.com
Norfolk Southern Corp. Norfolk, VA Rail freight S www.nscorp.com
Pepco Holdings Inc. Washington, DC Utility E, S, P www.pepcoholdings.com
PepsiCo Inc. Purchase, NY Food and beverage * www.pepsico.com
PG&E Corp. San Francisco, CA Utility * B, P www.pge.com
Pitney Bowes Stamford, CT Mail management E www.pb.com
Prudential Financial Inc. Newark, NJ Financial services, Insurance www.prudential.com
Sodexo Inc. Gaithersburg, MD Food and facilities management services * E, S, B www.sodexo.com
State Farm Insurance Cos. Bloomington, IL Insurance S www.statefarm.com
The Coca-Cola Co. Atlanta, GA Beverage manufacturing * S www.thecoca-colacompany.com
TIAA-CREF New York, NY Financial services, Insurance * E, B www.tiaa-cref.org
Toyota Motor North America Inc. New York, NY Automotive P www.toyota.com
Verizon Communications Inc. /New York, NY Telecommunications E, S, B, P www.verizon.com
Wal-Mart Stores Inc. Bentonville, AR Retail www.walmartstores.com
Wells Fargo & Co. San Francisco, CA Banking, Financial services * www.wellsfargo.com
WGL Holdings, Inc. Washington, DC Utility E, S, B, P www.wglholdings.com
Xerox Corp. Rochester, NY Document management technology services * www.xerox.com
Yum! Brands Inc. Louisville, KY Food services E, B www.yum.com

Women of Power

(File)

REGISTER NOW: Black Enterprise Women of Power Summit’s 10th Anniversary

It will be a landmark year for the Black Enterprise Women of Power Summit in…

Read More »
Venus Williams

Watch Sonia Alleyne’s Interview with Venus Williams at This Year’s Women of Power Summit [Video]

Venus Williams was one of the featured speakers at this year’s Women of Power Summit.

Read More »