Viral Video Shows Funeral Goers Dine-And-Dashing Houston Eatery Out Of $500
A party of 20 who ate at a Houston restaurant went viral for a TikTok video of their alleged dine and dash.
The group went to the Crazy Cajun after a funeral on Oct. 6. The restaurant was short-staffed the day the incident occurred due to the lunch rush and the size of their party. The restaurant’s assistant manager, Brenda Garcia, told the Houston Chronicle that the group was complaining about the wait time, the food quality, and the 20% gratuity fee added to their over $500 bill.
Garcia explained that at least one party member returned to pay her portion of the bill in person while claiming she feared for her safety after a party member threatened to shoot a server.
“I got a call from one of the ladies that walked out without paying her tab,” the assistant manager said. “She explained to us that the woman that threatened my coworker showed them the gun.”
Funeral party walks out on $542 restaurant tab — dine and dash caught on video pic.twitter.com/I5drrmAcwQ
— SHO’NUFF (@IAMSHO_NUFF) October 21, 2023
Video of the dine and dash recorded by her staff was sent by Garcia to a local outlet, Grizzy’s Hood News, which the employee claimed was intended more as a warning for other restaurants. Subsequently, the video went viral from there.
Two of the 20 diners returned to pay their portion of the bill, which Garcia said was $270. The servers rely on the gratuity to supplement the low hourly pay rate. The Crazy Cajun also has signs posted about its gratuity policy.
According to Fox 26 News, the guests could not be pleased even after several items were comped and a discount was given by management.
Servers in Texas can be held responsible for diners who leave without paying if they signed a contract agreeing to be held financially liable. Somewhat complicating things, no labor laws prohibit establishments from charging the staff for customers who leave without paying, so it’s generally left up to the establishment if they will deduct the money from the pockets of its employees.
In Texas, the act of dining and dashing is technically considered theft of service and ranges from a misdemeanor charge up to a felony, depending on the amount charged.
According to Brett Pritchard Law, the original tab would be classified as a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail or a fine not exceeding $2,000.