HBCU Tournament, EA Sports

Fourth Annual EA SPORTS Madden NFL 24 X HBCU Tournament Finals To Take Place At NFL Pro Bowl Games

Are you ready for some football? Video game football?

The fourth annual EA SPORTS Madden NFL 24 x HBCU Tournament will be held during the week leading up to the 2024 NFL Pro Bowl Games in Orlando.

Former Green Bay Packers running back Ahman Green, ESPN commentator and HBCU graduate Tiffany Greene, and former Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver DeSean Jackson will serve as special guest hosts for the tournament. Last year’s Madden HBCU Tournament was hosted by Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons.

After punching their tickets in the men’s and women’s open qualifiers and in video submissions, eight HBCU student finalists will travel to Orlando’s EA Studio and participate in an “experienceship” with the NFL to learn about the business side of sports and gaming throughout the week.

“The Madden HBCU tournament is a prime example of the NFL’s commitment to inclusivity and accessibility in both traditional sports and esports,” Ed Kiang, vice president of video gaming for the NFL, said in a statement. “The program has experienced significant growth the past four seasons with 56 HBCU schools represented and player participation expanding by 200 percent year-over-year. We can’t wait to showcase the Pro Bowl Games for this year’s finalists and deliver an unforgettable experience for them.”

Additionally, the finalists will take part in on-site media interviews before, during, and after competitive play, meet with EA executives behind the popular Madden NFL video game franchise, as well as shadow NFL executives. Students will also attend a special Disney on the Yard activation, where they will get a campus tour of Flamingo’s Crossing and speak with Disney executives regarding career opportunities at Disney.

Ahead of the NFL Pro Games on Feb. 4, finalists will tour Camping World Stadium with the opportunity to interact with NFL players. They’ll also receive a ticket to attend the game.

The eight finalists are: Dametri Hill, Fort Valley State University; DaSean Wade Neclos Jr., North Carolina A&T; Alon Anwoju, Albany State University; Egypt Garrett and Kiara Davis, Tennessee State University; and Taylor Adams, Ernest Walker, and Germaine Bozeman, Florida A&M University.

Exclusive highlights will be available on the NFL’s official YouTube channel on Feb.10 at 5 p.m. ET. 

RELATED CONTENT: Wakanda Forever: EA Announces ‘”Black Panther” Video Game is in the Works