Oprah Winfrey, Micheal B. Jordan, Honors

Oprah Winfrey And Michael B. Jordan To Be Honored At 3rd Annual Academy Museum Gala

Despite ongoing strikes of SAG-AFTRA and WGA members, both unions agreed to a third annual Academy Museum Gala.

Oprah Winfrey and Michael B. Jordan are set to receive honors along with Meryl Streep and Sofia Coppola, Deadline reports. Jordan is set to receive The Vantage Award, an honor given to an emerging artist or scholar whose work helps to contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema.

Winfrey will receive The Pillar Award which acknowledges exemplary leadership and support for the Academy Museum. The fundraiser will take place on October 14 and raise proceeds toward the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures’ exhibitions, education initiatives, and public programming.

“We are excited to gather again at our third annual Academy Museum Gala to celebrate the power, global impact, and indelible importance of cinema,” Jacqueline Stewart, Director and President of the Academy Museum said.

“I am truly honored to recognize four artists, Meryl Streep, Michael B. Jordan, Oprah Winfrey and Sofia Coppola, whose creativity and passion have inspired and shaped our culture in such powerful ways.”

Sponsored by Rolex, the gala will be co-chaired by Academy Award-nominated director Ava DuVernay, Academy Museum Trustee, physician, producer, philanthropist, and entrepreneur Dr. Eric Esrailian, Academy Award-winning actor and Academy Museum supporter Halle Berry, and Academy Museum Trustee and screenwriter, director, producer Ryan Murphy.

“We are truly grateful to our co-chairs Ava DuVernay, Dr. Eric Esrailian, Halle Berry, and Ryan Murphy, for hosting this special evening and to Rolex for their continued support of the Museum and cinema worldwide,” Stewart added.

The 2023 Academy Gala host committee was announced on Tuesday and includes renowned stars like Ariana DeBose, Don Cheadle, Gabrielle Union, Gina Prince-Bythewood, Jay Ellis, Jodie Turner-Smith, Keke Palmer, Letitia Wright, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Questlove, Rashida Jones, Regina Hall, Tracee Ellis Ross, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Zoë Kravitz, and more.

RELATED CONTENT: Netflix Honors Female Game Changers Of Hip-Hop In New Docuseries