Thrive Causemetics Invests In Breonna Taylor Scholarship Fund
Education News

Thrive Causemetics Honors Breonna Taylor’s Memory With $100K Donation To University of Louisville Endowment Fund

Breonna Taylor
Breonna Taylor (Image: Instagram/@keyanna.guifarro)

Thrive Causemetics has donated $100,000 to the Breonna Taylor Endowment Scholarship Fund at the University of Louisville.

The company’s hope is that, in addition to supporting nursing students at UofL, its gift will encourage other donors to make large scale contributions so that the Endowment can reach $2 million. Once that goal is reached, the Breonna Taylor Scholarship would become a permanent financial assistance program at Louisville.

According to Thrive CEO Karissa Bodnar, the company has been working since Taylor’s tragic death to find a way to keep her legacy alive.

“While our hearts ache for the beautiful life that was lost,” she said in a statement, “we are comforted to know that Breonna’s legacy will live on in the hearts of the beneficiaries who receive this scholarship, as well as the lives those individuals change.”

“The women in our family are all in health care,” said Taylor’s mother, Tameka Palmer, “and Thrive Causemetics is bringing smiles to our faces and tears to our eyes, because this will pave the way for so many others to live Breonna’s dream of working in the medical field. In a time where health care workers are needed more than ever, we are so thankful. Thrive Causemetics’ generosity is going to help so many. Breonna’s legacy and the outpouring of support like this continues to bring us so much light.”

Breonna Taylor was an emergency room technician at UofL Health when she was killed.

Along with the general donation made to the Endowment Fund, established at the University of Louisville last summer, Thrive also gifted an additional $3,000 as an immediate use scholarship awarded to UofL freshman Kaelyn Goatly, who is studying to become a pediatric nurse.

Goatly becomes the second recipient of the Breonna Taylor Scholarship, a four-year renewable award.